Things are Moving Fast!!

So much has happened since my last post. I’m older, wiser, been through some good times and some bad times. The first 6 months have flown by and now I’m looking the big 01 right square in the eye. I’ve had my first Thanksgiving. I’ve moved up to the #3 diapers and milk isn’t the only thing that’s for dinner any more. Just when I thought I’d seen it all, the Folks spring this Christmas thing on me. More on that later, but the point I’m trying to get across is that I need a break!

So, I spent Thanksgiving in Luray with the Pyne’s and the Longs. Lots of people around to talk to, to play with, and, most importantly, to feed me. I had a good time, but I find it can be a little overwhelming having to meet so many new people. Everyone pinching your cheeks, grabbing your feet, and making weird faces and baby sounds at you can be disconcerting for a young man. Of course, I’m developing a strategy to combat this. I start crying and screaming and flailing my arms. It’s working pretty well so far. I usually end up back in Mom’s or Pops’ arms. Next time you don’t feel like dealing with people, give it a shot. I bet the those around you will scatter as well.

Of course, I don’t always want to be left alone. Feeding time comes around every 4 or 5 hours, and it has gotten more interesting lately. Milk is still the star of the show, but I’m trying out a few new items. So far, they have all been awesome! I like apple sauce, pears, sweet potatoes, carrots, squash and I really, really love my peas. Pops says I’ve already eaten more green vegetables in my life than either of his brothers. The Folks don’t yet trust me with the spoon on my own though. I keep reaching for it and they keep pulling my hands down. Have you seen my face after a round with the carrots? How could I possibly do any worse than they do?

If anyone is wondering why I haven’t been to the doctor in so long, they should have a talk with the Folks. We had an appointment for last Friday, but WHOOPS, we showed up only 5 hours late. Apparently, there was a miscommunication and now I don’t see the Doc until Dec. 20. Fine by me, I’m sure she was just going to annoy me with her needles and prodding and silly questions.

So, back to this thing called Christmas. The gift giving idea sounds pretty good to me, especially since I don’t have a regular gig to afford giving, so I only receive. The other parts of this tradition aren’t making much sense to me. We bring a sickly tree into the house, spend an hour or two dressing it up, and we have to water it everyday so that it lives just long enough to get us through to the big day. Oh yeah, and if we forget to unplug the lights when we go to bed, it could burn the whole house down.

Who was the first person to do this? Actually, who was the person who saw their buddy do this and said “Hey, that looks like a great idea Vern. Why don’t we all give it a shot?” Also, our cats now have little Christmas bows around their necks and are not thrilled about the idea. I may be only 6 months old, but I don’t think it’s a good idea to anger animals with sharp claws that hover over you while you sleep.

You Thought I Was Kidding About The Cats!

That’s enough ranting and raving for one day. I’ll see many of you at Christmas and for those I don’t, I’ll report back here afterward to let you know how things went.

Izaak P. Mitchell

One response to “Things are Moving Fast!!

Leave a Reply

